FREE

To be free

A birth-right to behold

The ancestors rejoice

Their songs carried forth in the veins of a generation

Breathing change into the hallway of time

We are a living dream

The giants on whose shoulders we stand

Made way for us

To dream

To believe

To be proud bearers of this regal skin

To be

I hold the African crown high

In it, my story comes to life

The East African sun shines

Awakening the stars within me

No limits

To the universe within me

I do not live

For another’s gaze

But mine

I do not seek

To be other; I am me.

Black, bold, beautiful

Our stories

Are engraved in the earth’s rock

A history which could never be

Unwritten

We have been here

We will be here

The ground beneath our feet

Knows our names

It is time

It has always been time,

to:

Claim our worthy space

Walk with head held high

Un-bow our shoulder

Dance to the rhythm of our truth

To breathe.

To belong.

~NM

Leave a comment